Movie Reviews: RED and Unstoppable

Welcome! I wish I could start with “this week” or “this month,” but my posts are far too sporadic for me to use such phrases. This round of movie reviews should be short and sweet, for there wasn’t much to pick on with regard to these films. The funny thing about this group is that before watching them, I had doubts about each one. Click the titles to watch the trailer.

RED

Retired. Extremely Dangerous.”

When I first heard that, I laughed. Not, “Oh! That’s so funny,” but,  “Wow. That’s a dumb premise.” But, I will be the first to say MAN WAS I WRONG.

The movie was a little slow at the beginning. It wasn’t too bad, nor was it slow for a too long. Once it picked up, the action never ended. When it took a break, the comedy stood by to entertain in its place.

The acting impressed me. They made me laugh, cry, sit on the edge of my seat, and shout at the screen.

  • Sarah, played by Mary-Louise Parker, is an adorable, funny, and very natural character. I didn’t feel that she stressed or forced her performance at all. I loved from Scene 1.
  • Victoria, played by the beautiful Helen Mirren, had me at, “I kill people, dear,” as she shrugged nonchalantly. Watching this woman kick ass was the best part of the night. Got to love strong women. 

Helen Mirren Whoopin' Ass

  • Also in the photo is John Malkovich. Possibly the epicenter of comedy in this film. You got to check out his pig!

Nothing worse than an awful plot, right? Right. Well, fortunately, RED had an awesome storyline. I’m not going to give it away. I will, however, warn you that it’s one of those movies that a young child wouldn’t understand very well. It’s fast-paced and intelligent, a movie you’ve got to sit all the way through.

But, no film is flawless, so I must bring its blemishes to light.

Although the characters were complete and real, some relationships (but not all) between each other could have used a little more development. The love angle between Sarah and Frank (Bruce Willis) came out clean and well paced. Victoria’s love story felt too vague, and I really, really, REALLY wanted to see it elaborated on.

The only other spot that comes to mind is the scene (it’s in the trailer, so I’m not calling it a spoiler!) where John Malkovich’s character, Marvin, shoots an incoming RPG. Unbelievable. Not that he couldn’t hit a target so small or moving so quickly; with training that could be done. When the bullet and RPG collided, the explosion flew completely backward. Now, I’m no physicist, but I’m pretty sure the explosion wouldn’t move in one direction. I picture it engulfing its surroundings very equally.

All in all, I give this movie 5 stars out of 5. I may actually buy this movie when it comes out on DVD. (Or maybe by then, I’ll have moved up in the world and got a Blu-Ray player. 😛 )

UNSTOPPABLE

So, when I saw this trailer, I was thinking, “How do you make a full-length movie about one run-away train? Impossible.” I’m on a wrong streak for sure.

They paced this movie so well, I was shocked, impressed, and on the edge of my seat the entire time. I literally sprinted through the hall when I had to go to the bathroom in the middle of the movie.  I didn’t want to miss a single second of it.

To my surprise, the writers even added backstory, a commonly forgotten aspect in books and films. Not only did they have backstory, they had interesting backstory. The characters all had lives, families, and something to lose. It made relating to them and felling compassionate for them come naturally.

There was a fair amount of comedy, which is always a good thing. And a dumb, fat idiot who should have died, but didn’t. Go figure!

Oh, and the best part?

Chris Pine Lookin' Fine

(I know this picture cuts off, but let’s be honest. I’m too tired to try to fix it, and you can see his pretty face just fine. It’s gonna stay the way it is.)

Huh. Well, that’s about it. It was a darn good movie. I’m not sure I’d change anything, but I could just be forgetting something. Oh well! Go see it! 5 stars!

After my comment in the last post about me getting on a schedule… well, that hasn’t happened. Not sure it will. Haha. Well, this was fun. Over and out!

P.S. HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!

~ by Anna K on November 25, 2010.

4 Responses to “Movie Reviews: RED and Unstoppable”

  1. I loved both of these movies just as you described. They were well played, good plot, storyline, and great acting. You did a fine job of explaining them to someone who hasn’t seen them. I’d also recommend seeing them. Both 5 star movies.
    And, HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Anna! Hope it’s going to rock! 🙂

  2. I really want to see RED, but I figured my kids wouldn’t do well. We’ll buy it when it comes out on DVD instead.

    And Chris Pine? Yummy 🙂

  3. RED sounds really good. I love Helen Mirren. Thanks!

  4. Oh, great review on RED! I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. It was enough action, humour, and all around enjoy-ability (yep, I said that) to keep me entirely amusued the whole time. And I loved Helen Mirren and John Malkovich in it, they cracked me up!

Leave a Reply

 
